Elite Easy Access Members, upgrade your membership HERE.

More Provinces Implement Quarantine for Travelers

Published: April 14, 2021 at 8:04 am

Quarantine for Travelers

More provinces are now requiring travelers into their jurisdictions to undergo self-quarantine together with other disease control measures amid the continuing third wave of infections of COVID-19.

The number of provinces implementing such measures have now risen to 42. This is after the provinces of Phichit, Lampang and Ubon Ratchathani had begun implementing these restrictions effective Tuesday, according to the Interior Ministry.

This viewed by many as a sign that provincial governments are taking the third wave more seriously after the disease had reportedly spread to 74 provinces from the entertainment venues in Bangkok.

Before Tuesday, 39 provincial government units have been implementing the self-quarantine requirement on their inter-provincial visitors.

As per the requirements of the Center for COVID-19 Situation Administration, provincial disease committees are given individual authority to decide on disease control measures and restrictions as they see fit given the situations on their jurisdictions.

The only requirement is that any relaxation or restriction must follow the guidelines already set in place by the CCSA.

Tourists, however, have expressed confusion with the different entry requirements required by each province.

For example, Lampang province does not require a self-quarantine period if the tourist tests negative for COVID-19 upon entry into the province. However, the province takes special notice of visitors from Bangkok, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Samut Prakan, Chiang Mai and Nakhon Pathom.

Travelers who enter the province from these places are required to report to local health authorities. They are only required to undergo self-quarantine if they test positive for COVID-19.

In Phichit, however, visitors from 61 provinces are required to report to officials in their destination upon arrival.

On the other hand, Songkhla only requires visitors from the districts of Bang Khae, Wattana and Klong Toey to undergo self-quarantine. Visitors from the provinces of Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Nakhon Pathom and Samut Prakan are also subject to the same requirement.

Updated information on each individual province’s disease control measures are available from the Ministry of the Interior’s website. However, there is no English translation yet available from the Ministry website. Announcements are also in PDF format, and not embedded as page content.

The following are the provinces in the North that require self-quarantine from visitors: Chiang Mai, Kamphaeng Phet, Lampang, Lamphun, Nan, Phayao, Phetchabun, Phichit, Pitsanulok, Tak, Uttaradit and Tak.

The Northeastern provinces that impose the same requirements are the following: Bung Kan, Buri Ram, Chaiyaphum, Khon Kaen, Maha Sarakham, Mukdahan, Nakhon Phanom, Nakhon Ratchasima, Nong Bua Lam Phu, Amnat Charoen, Sakon Nakhon, Nong Khai, Udon Thani, Ubon Ratchathani, Sakon Nakhon, and Yasothon.

The Central and Eastern Provinces that require self-quarantine are as follows: Uthai Thani, Sing Buri, Saraburi, Nakhon Sawan, Sa Kaeo, Chai Nat and Lop Buri.

Finally, the Southern provinces that impose self-quarantine are: Trang, Satun, Ranong, Phang Nga, Songkhla, Chumphon, Narathiwat and Pattani.

Thailand has reported 965 new cases of COVID-19 on Tuesday afternoon. 956 cases are locally transmitted, with 9 imported infections from quarantined arrivals. The total number of cases since the start of the pandemic is now at 34,575.



Category :